Lights, Camera…What’s next? My long journey to a career in Hollywood.

Jen Brucker
12 min readMar 21, 2024
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

My dream in High School was to be an actress. Honestly, it started a lot earlier than that, but when I focused on journalism and drama in high school, I solidified my want to be an actress. I went to High School in San Diego, which should have been the perfect launch pad for my acting career. I even did some local modeling and was in most school productions with hopes of cutting my teeth in the local theater and moving on from there. The summer before my senior year, my family abruptly relocated to the middle of the US, away from everything I needed to launch an acting career. A chance to move just slightly north to Los Angeles, get into an in-state school, and have Hollywood just over my horizon was a dream that had been extinguished for now.

But as it often does, life went on; I went to college and tried to pursue writing, as the wind had been taken out of my sails to pursue most of my dreams for many reasons. 2 years and some change into my college career, the money ran out. My parents made too much money for grants to be an option for me, and the thought of major student loans terrified me. I ended up taking out a small($8,000) loan, which took WAY too long to pay off, to finish some coursework. After a turbulent gap year, my then-partner took an opportunity that moved us out of the middle of the US and to the ever-waking…

--

--